Transitioning: What new Naturalistas need to know 


Ok so now that I made the decision to return to my natural hair texture I had to decide whether or not I would “Big Chop” (BC) or if I would transition, which is the process of growing out your natural hair to a comfortable length where you can cut off the remaining relaxed (in my case) ends of your hair.  As I mentioned in my last post,  I am definitely the type of woman who firmly believes that my hair has to be on point to my liking, where I am comfortable and not self conscious.The idea of a the BC just wasn’t something that I was comfortable with.

Another thing I pondered while deciding to return natural was, how will I know how to do my hair without a relaxer?  See for me, I wanted to be sure that if I was going to embark on my personal natural hair journey I wanted to be successful at it and in order for me to be a success required my recognizing that I was a babe in my knowledge of caring for my natural hair and would need to learn the basics for success.  I also had to take into consideration my work environment and making sure that everything remained professional.  So after reflecting how what I needed to be aware I decided that transitioning was the best course of action for me.

           Here are my top tips for success for new naturalistas transitioning

  • Patience is key
  • Learn that water is indeed our friend
  • Don’t be a product junky.  Find a product that works best for YOUR hair and go from there
  • Be open to suggestions but don’t feel you HAVE to stick to one method
  • YouTube can be a great resource if you don’t have friends or family that are naturals that can help you along the way
  • Be ok with not everyone accepting your hair in it’s natural state, after all it is YOUR hair and the only opinion that matters is YOURS
  • Understand that it will not always be easy
  • Always remember the end result you are wanting to achieve it will help keep you on track
  • Don’t be afraid to get trims for good hair healthy
  • Learn protective styles and low manipulation styles

These are just a few of the things that I found helpful when transitioning, what are some of the things you found helpful or would like to learn more about?

Ciao Bellas

Leave a Reply

